Wesley OBU Talk

143kmph Fun Motor Rally – 14th October 2017 Organized by the Wesley Alumni, Sri Lanka

The OBU and the OWSC jointly conducted Wesley Alumni’s first ever Fun Motor Rally on Saturday 14th October. This Rally is a part of a 2 weekend celebration in the old boys calendar with the Double Blue Ball happening a week later.

Despite the bad weather that continued even on the day of the event, it wasn’t enough to dampen the enthusiasm of the participants, organizers and the sponsors. Participants with their families and supporters gathered at the OWSC from 10.00am on the 14th for a briefing by the Motor Racing Association (MRA) expert Izvan Ahamat who volunteered to assist us. In all 24 competitors took part with the flag-off at 2.32pm. 19 Vehicles completed the course with 4 others losing their way and returning to base. All competitors expressed their approval of the plotted course and the clever ministrations of the course director – Izvan.

Back at the OWSC, the families, organizing committee were sufficiently spirited & well fed and awaited the return of the participants. The awards ceremony was graced by the guests of honour – Mr.Rajah Sinnathuray, Mr.B.N.Jurangpathy, Mr.P.B.Herat & Mr.Mashood Ahamat, all Wesleyites who were part of Motor Racing in years gone by. We were also privileged to have the presence of invitees from Wesley College – Vice Principal –Mr. Jamith Fernando & Co-Vice Principal Mr. Palitha Fernando.

Mr.Wilhelm VanDort spoke a few words at the closing ceremony thanking the Chairman of Organizing Committee Richie Sappideen & the rest of the Committee, and the Sponsors who made it happen and the invitees who were present. Mr.Farman Cassim – President of the OWSC made all the arrangements at the Club to receive a good crowd. He also gave away some key awards.

Special limited edition T’Shirt/Cap of the highest quality was a big hit. A few more are available at cost of Rs1500/ for the combo.

Special thanks to our sponsors Mr.Aruna Samson – Managing Director of Crown Tyres, Wilhelm VanDort & his friends, MAS Holdings, Bill Deutrom, Sri Shanmugalingam and few others.
The committee consisted of Richie Sappideen (Project Chairman), Wilhelm Van Dort (OBU President), Farman Cassim (OWSC President), TY Raheem, Izvan Ahamat (Course Director), Ranil Tillekeratne (Secretary), V.Kamalesh (Treasurer), Tyrone Amath, Shehan Arooz, R.Thirukumar, Kurt Rodrigo, Chryshan Rodrigo, Rasheed Muthaliph, Oliver Rajadurai & Mithral Perera.

The list of winners of the inaugural Fun Motor Rally

Winner - 2 wheel Category

  • T.A.Johar – Rider / Shifaz Najeemudeen - Navigator

Winners List 4 Wheel Category

  • T.M. Rasheed Muthaliph (Driver) / Tariq R. Muthaliph (Navigator) – Toyota Hybrid

  • Rasika Perera (Driver) / Hiran Perera (Navigator) – Mini Minor

  • Ryan De Bruin (Driver) / Harold Elanco (Navigator) – Nissan Sunny

  • Asith Siriwardana (Driver) / Adeetha Siriwardana (Navigator) – Kia Sorento

  • Tyrone Amath (Driver) / Trevin Amath (Navigator) – Mitsubishi Pajero

Special awards Women Drivers

  • Priyanthi VanDort (Driver) & Mariella VanDort (Navigator)

  • Sherrine Perera (Driver) & Michelle Perera (Navigator)